A Tribute to Hergé

102 years ago… On Wednesday, May 22nd, 2007 was born Georges Remi alias HERGé, the Tintincreator of Tintin.

Hergé was author of the world-loved comic book series The Adventures of Tintin. Since its start in 1929, Tintin has sold over 120 million books in more than 50 languages. Originally published in French, the series follows the young reporter Tintin and his dog Snowy on their adventures throughout the world fighting crime and corruption.

Destination Moon was my first read. I read it back when I was around ten. This was in the beginning of 1990’s. The 62 paged book covers how Tintin and his friend Captain Haddock get chance to travel to the moon on the rocket engineered by their friend Professor Calculus.

I was simply fascinated by the highly detailed art used in the book. I loved the book for its graphical detail, language, colour, cleanliness, humour and for the knowledge it added. I became a huge fan of Tintin, since then.

Before writing/drawing for a book, Herge studied the subject in depth. And throughout the books you can discover real facts and you can find knowledge. Though Tintin was published for young minds, it was equally enjoyed by adults too. Tintin is a classic!!

I read the book and reread it several times and I sort of treasured it. I wanted to get the other books. But I did not find it anywhere in the local bookshops. The first internet search I did was for ‘Tintin’ in the yahoo search. (No Google, back then). The search yielded a lot of Tintin fan sites. I found the books at online shops for INR 215 back then. It was huge money for me then.

In the year 2000, Cartoon Network aired the The adventures of Tintin TV episodes produced by Ellipse-Nelvana (1991-92). I still vividly remember the time it was aired – 8 am, 1-30 pm and 8-30 pm. These TV episodes followed the book very closely and were reproduced perfectly. I would neve<my tintin page>r miss any episode during the lunch time. The whole half-an-hour I would be glued to the Television. 🙂 I used to fight with my sister for watching the episodes then. I reserved the remote for me during the time. Later I created my own webpage for Tintin at my first site using plain old HTML.

Now I have many of the books, as soft and hard copies. I also got a DVD of the Tintin episodes. Still I find Tintin pleasurable and interesting as it was back then. Though Hergé is now no more, his creation Tintin lives on… Hip Hip Hooray!

 

Some excellent Tintin resources on the web:

 

Samjosh.

P.S. Thanks to http://tintin-puzzles.blogspot.com/ for the picture.

Leave a Reply

